Table of Contents Hide
If you feel that someone knows what you post on your feed and stories, he is probably a follower, so you may wonder what does “Followers” mean on Facebook.
There is a difference between following and followers.
Following is when you are following someone on Facebook, but followers are the opposite.
It’s like when you have followers on Instagram or Twitter, that can see your posts and tweets, even stories.
However, each one of these features has its own rights and privileges.
The good thing about followers on all social media platforms is that you can modify your privacy to let them see what you want.
So today I will show you what does followers mean on Facebook.
Note that we will be using an iPhone for the tutorial, but you can use an Android phone as well or your PC.
What Does “Followers” Mean on Facebook
Followers on Facebook mean that you accepted a friend request of someone, and they are now your followers, so they can see your posts, stories and chat with you.
On the other hand, there are people that you don’t know, and they can’t add you as a friend.
Because you haven’t accepted them, or your account is private, they can follow you instead.
However, a follower on Facebook can see all your stories and posts in the news feed as default.
As a consequence, you can remove the follow button from your public profile.
Also, you can lock your account so no one can follow you if are not their friend.
How Can I See Who Follows Me on Facebook
To see who follows you on Facebook, open your Facebook profile using your mobile phone, then tap on the “Menu” option or at the “Three Lines” icon.
On Android, you will find the “Menu” at the top right of the screen, and on iPhone, you will find it at the bottom right.
When the Menu page opens, tap on your “Profile” picture to navigate to your profile page.
Then tap on the “Three Dots” below your profile picture.
The Profile Settings page will open, so tap on “View Privacy Shortcuts”.
Now you will be redirected to the “Privacy Shortcut” page.
So on this page, scroll down until you find the “Your Facebook Information” menu.
Then tap on the “Access your information” option.
After the new page opens, scroll down a bit and tap on “Friends and followers”.
When the page opens, tap on “People who follow you”.
On the final page, you will be able to see all of your “Followers”.
Keep in mind that if you haven’t already activated the “Follow” feature on your Facebook account, you will not be able to see the followers.
However, when you activate the Follow button on your account, you will start by then to see the followers, so you may not see the old followers.
But if you had friends already before activating the “Follow” feature, they will remain all your followers.
But you will not be able to see them after the activation of your new “Followers” list, which is the “Follow” feature.
How To Allow Followers on Facebook
To allow followers on Facebook, open your profile page by tapping on the “Menu” button (The Three Lines icon), then when your profile page opens tap on the “Three Dots”.
On that page, tap the first option, which is the “Follow Settings”.
After tapping on Follow Settings, you will be redirected to a new page.
Therefore, you can edit all the Follow settings here, and you don’t have to go to other pages.
So first start with the first option which is “Who Can Follow Me” by making it “Public”.
After tapping on “Public”, another option will dropdown.
In this option, you can choose “Who Can See Your Followers On Your Timeline”.
However, your choice will not affect the Followers list, so don’t worry.
In our case, we will make it “Public” also like the first option, but you can keep it “Only Me”.
After finishing from the Follow settings page, go back to the “Profile Settings” page.
Then tap on “View As” to confirm that what you’ve done is completed.
But keep in mind that the Follow button will be hidden on your profile page in the “Three Dots” button.
So not all people who visit your profile can know this, because of the “Add Friend” button that’s enabled.
But as long as they add you as a friend, they will become your followers automatically.
As a sequence, you can remove the Add Friend button from the public and replace it with the “Follow” button only.
What are Facebook Followers vs Friends?
Facebook Followers are people who can see your posts and stories if you only show them to the public in the following settings, followers can also be your friend.
But if one of your followers chose to unfollow you, they may remain your friend but without you knowing it.
However, your followers and friends by default can see all of your public posts and stories.
But your friend can get more privileges like chatting with you directly on Messenger.
In fact, it all depends on the privacy that you set up on your settings.
Are All Facebook Friends Followers?
Yes, your friends become automatically your followers when you accept their friend requests.
However, you can choose to block them if you don’t want them on your account again.
Even more, you can make a privacy checkup to hide your posts from your followers.
Can Facebook Followers See My Posts?
Yes, followers may be able to see all of your posts until you decide to edit the “Follow” settings on your Facebook account.
You can specify who sees your content on Facebook to make it visible only by selected friends.
When you follow someone on Facebook you become their followers, and when someone adds you as a friend, and you accept they become the same.
So it’s up to you if you want to edit all of your privacy settings to make your content visible for your friends only.
Therefore, people who followed you only without sending a friend request will stop seeing your posts.
So today you’ve learned what does “Follower” means on Facebook.