Table of Contents Hide
- How To Know if Someone Restricted You on Instagram
- What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram
- Further Reading
If you feel that someone restricted your account on Instagram, you will wonder how to know it.
Instagram restriction feature is made to prevent bullies on users’ accounts.
It’s not likely to be a block, but it’s made to make a distance between the user and the bullier.
However, there are other reasons behind restricting someone.
The fastest way to know if someone restricted you on Instagram is to comment on one of their posts.
After commenting, check if your comment is showing on the post directly.
If yes, then you’re not restricted, but if it’s not showing, then you are restricted.
However, there are multiple ways to know it.
So today I will show you 3 ways to know if someone restricted you on Instagram and what happens after that.
How To Know if Someone Restricted You on Instagram
To know if someone restricted you on Instagram, comment on their post and check if it’s showing directly on their post.
If it showed up, this means you are still not restricted.
However, if it’s not showing, this means there is a high probability that you’ve been restricted.
To make sure you can check and follow their activity status.
Then understand if they’ve posted a post recently or a story.
1.Check your comments on their posts
When you want to know if you are restricted by someone, and you’ve already commented on their post.
The only way to know is to check if your comment is shown on their post.
Now, if you can’t see it, this means you are restricted.
However, you can try other methods to confirm.
But this one is enough to give you the first confirmation sign.
There is another way also to find out if your comments are shown or not.
So head over to one of your friends or family member Instagram accounts.
Then check your old comments on the user’s posts.
If your comments aren’t available in public, and you can’t locate them, this means they’ve restricted you.
2.Try sending them a Direct Message
One of the common ways to know if someone restricted you on Instagram is by sending them a test message.
Go to your Instagram inbox and send them a message, then wait until you get the response.
If you usually receive a response fast, this might be that you are restricted, but your friend don’t want to show you that they did it.
Now, if you send them a message, and you don’t receive a response as usual, your message might be transferred to their request inbox.
This confirms that you’re restricted on Instagram.
3.Check if they’re still following you
If someone decided to restrict you on Instagram, they might unfollow you if they decided to.
Unlikely when they just decide to restrict you without unfollowing you, which is possible.
However, when you check your following list, you can find out if he is on your list.
Now, if you don’t find them on the list, it’s likely that you are restricted.
But it can happen only that they unfollowed you.
So you have to check also their activity to confirm that.
4.Check their account activity
Checking your friend’s activity also helps you to know more about what’s going on.
So this is another indirect way to know if you are restricted by someone on Instagram.
It’s optional to check your friend’s activity to clear your doubts about the restriction.
However, you will not be able to see if they are online and active (Green Dot).
Also, you can’t see if they were online before 5 minutes, for example (5 m).
So check their activity by following the last posted story or post.
Which helps you to confirm the restriction.
What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram
When someone decides to restrict a user on Instagram, this means they’ve chosen to limit the interaction with the restricted user.
In another way, it’s like taking a virtual distance between both the person who decided to restrict and the restricted user.
No matter what’s the reason behind it, but, they can restrict the user without blocking them or unfollowing them.
However, there are multiple effects of the restriction.
The main three effects are the ones below:
1.You can’t see if the user is active
This means you will not be able to see the “Green Dot” on their profile when they are active.
You will also not be able to see when they were active.
However, you can still open their post and watch their stories.
So you will only get to know if they are online when you check their latest activity.
Like posting a story or a normal post.
2.Your comments will be awaiting their validation
If you post a comment on their account after the restriction, you can’t see it on their post.
Because the purpose of the restriction is to stop bullying or unwanted interaction.
So your comment will stay pending until they choose to accept it or delete it.
You can also check above to know if you are restricted by someone on Instagram using the comments’ method.
3.The Direct Message you send will go to the request’s inbox
Another effect is that if someone restricted you, you can’t send them a direct message on their Instagram as you usual do.
The message will go directly to the Request inbox.
Then they will get to decide whether they accept your message or delete it.
Does Instagram Notify You When You Are Restricted
No, If you have already been restricted by someone on Instagram, you won’t get notified.
So you have to find this manually by trying to get into their account and add a post.
Also, send them a direct message and check if they will answer back.
How Do You Restrict Someone on Instagram
To restrict someone on Instagram, open their Instagram profile page.
Then click on the three-dot at the top right of the screen.
After the popup shows up, tap on “Restrict” to restrict them.
When you are making an unwanted interaction with other users on Instagram, they can decide to take a distance from you.
So if you’ve been restricted by someone on Instagram, you will not be able to find out this by notification.
You have to find out this manually by sending them a message and commenting on their posts.
So today, you’ve learned how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram.