Table of Contents Hide
Ever had this uncomfortable chat on Snapchat, so you’re wondering how to turn off saving snaps in chat?
Usually, snaps that are sent on chats with a limit can’t be saved, only snaps you’ve set their timer to unlimited could be saved.
To turn off saving snaps on chat, create a new snap and set its timer to a specific one, then send it; When you send a snap with a timer, your friend will no more be able to save it.
Therefore, the time you’ve set will apply to all the next snaps and remain until you re-adjust it.
Today, I will teach you how to turn off saving snaps in chat.
How To Turn Off Saving Snaps in Chat
To turn off saving snaps in chat, you need to create a snap and set its timer to a preferred one, then send it to yourself or your friend.
Here’s how to do it:
- On the Snapchat chat, tap on the “Camera” icon;
- Capture or record a new snap;
- Tap on the “Timer” icon, which is located at the end of the right editing icons menu;
- Limit the timer of the snap between 10 and 1 second, as you wish;
- Send the snap to your friend.
By doing so, you will turn off saving snaps in your friend’s chat and all other chats on Snapchat.
Keep in mind that any snap with a timer can’t be saved by your friend.
However, if you want to revert your decision, simply adjust the timer to “Infinity”.
Why Can’t I Save Snaps in Chat?
If you can’t save snaps in chat, it’s because your friend has likely limited their timer, and they don’t want you to save their snaps.
Otherwise, once you open the snap, you’ll see an icon at the bottom right of the snap.
This icon is the save icon that usually appears when the save option is available.
So if you don’t see any icon, it means they don’t want someone to save their snaps, so they turned off saving snaps in the chat.
Why Does Snapchat Save Some Messages?
When you see a dark gray line behind each message, it means that the person has saved the messages automatically.
Some users just save the messages intentionally because they like to keep them on the chat.
This could help them to know what you’ve been talking about together.
However, Snapchat doesn’t save messages by itself unless the person does so manually.
There is an option that saves the chats for 24 hours automatically then it disappears after, which is utilized by some people.
Yet, this option doesn’t apply to the snaps, as snaps have their own timer that you can adjust.
So you can always turn off the snaps in chat specifically even if you enable the delete chats “24 Hours after viewing”.
How To Add Someone on Snapchat Without It Saying Added by Search
Does Snapchat Location Turn Off After Inactivity?